Marikit and the Ocean of Stars (Hardcover)

Marikit and the Ocean of Stars By Caris Avendaño Cruz Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
Little Shop of Stories
2 on hand, as of Nov 26 3:18am

Description


A magical middle grade debut, inspired by Filipino folklore, about a ten-year-old girl who embarks on a quest in the world of gods and spirits to save her and her family from a sinister shadow god. Perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon and When You Trap a Tiger.

A Junior Library Guild Selection

Marikit is used to wearing recycled clothes. Her mother, the best seamstress in the barrio, has become an expert at making do ever since Marikit’s father and brother were lost at sea. But for her tenth birthday, all Marikit wants is something new. So when her mother gifts her a patchwork dress stitched together with leftover scraps from her workshop, Marikit vows to never wear it. That is, until the eve of her birthday, when shadow creatures creep into their home, attempt to take Marikit away, and upend the very life she knew.

When she’s swept away from the human world, Marikit discovers that her dress is a map, one lovingly crafted to lead her to safety in the magical lands of the Engkantos. She trudges through the enchanted lands of mythical creatures, making friends out of monsters and challenging gods. With the help of her friends, including an exuberant firefly and a cursed boy, Marikit journeys through the land of the Engkantos to find the key to saving her family, all without being eaten alive.

About the Author


Caris Avendaño Cruz is a copywriter for internet brands and cool businesses, but her favorite things to write are magical stories led by kids of color. Marikit and the Ocean of Stars is her debut novel. She lives in Bulacan, Philippines and posts on Twitter and Instagram. Visit her website to learn more.

Praise For…


"Inspired by Filipino folklore and legends, this is an exciting quest full of heart...A captivating tale of family, love, loss, and magic." —Kirkus

"Like Alice stumbling down the rabbit hole, Marikit has memorable adventures that help her find her place in the world. A perfect read-alike for fans of Grace Lin’s Where the Mountain Meets the Moon (2009) and Erin Entrada Kelly’s Lalani of the Distant Sea (2019)." —Booklist

"Marikit’s story is one of finding what is most important in life, through family and friends, and gratitude over material wealth. Debut author Cruz has created a richly woven Filipino adventure [that] stands out due to its beautiful exploration of Filipino culture and lyrical prose." —School Library Journal

"Cruz has woven a constellation of folklore, love and whimsy to create a tender, glimmering tale that is sure to be an enduring classic. Destined to be a star on every shelf." —Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of the Pandava series

"Radiant and lyrical. Marikit and the Ocean of Stars is woven with love, each line shimmering with beautiful words, forming a timeless story that will find a place in readers' hearts." —Julie Abe, author of the Eva Evergreen series

"Marikit and the Ocean of Stars is rich and magical, full of heart and imagination. A must-read for fans of mythical creatures, magical gods, and marvelous monsters." —Erin Entrada Kelly, winner of the 2018 Newbery Medal for Hello Universe and 2021 Newbery Honor for We Dream of Space

Marikit and the Ocean of Stars is a stunning, lyrical, and magical tale that is sure to become a new favorite....A remarkable debut.” —Alex Aster, award-winning author of the Emblem Island series

"Full of rich detail and a tremendous heart, Marikit's whimsical, immersive adventure is an absolute delight." —Amanda Foody, New York Times bestselling author of Wilderlore



Product Details
ISBN: 9780374389093
ISBN-10: 0374389098
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
Publication Date: October 18th, 2022
Pages: 336
Language: English